One of Those Days

Today has just been one of those days where I do not have the patience to deal with the cultural differences and communication issues that come up in my day to day life. Mainly, I’m tired of hearing how dangerous it is for me to do anything. Culturally, Thai people in general are very communal and rarely do anything alone. This is especially true of women. I’m told on a daily basis how dangerous it is for me to live alone, bike alone, run on the street… leave my house (jk), when in reality this is a very small safe village with a few issues here and there. The police came to my house one day and told me I shouldn’t go to half of my village because there is a person with a “mental dissorder” there. I’m told on a daily basis not to bike outside of my town alone because of “bad boys.” For the most part I try to be somewhat respectful of their warnings. Worrying about people is a way that Thai people express care and I try to take it this way and not like I am being treated as an incompetant child. Then today I was told I shouldn’t run on the road because I might get hit by a car. REALLY? The three cars that go by really pose a serious threat? This is just not going to happen, I refuse to run in circles around the snake infested soccer field at my school.

Also, communicating my job assignment here is stressful at times. I am here to help the teachers, I am not here to entertain children while teachers drink coffee and wander the school. Granted it is only the first week of school, but drilling this point home can be frustrating.

On some more positive notes: My fridge and stove were delivered today. YAY! Yesterday, a family in my town took me to the city to go swimming and meet the family. This was super fun and relaxing. I’m also really happy to be back in the classroom working with students. I’ve been away from teaching for a while now and I forgot how much I like it.

List Time!

Here is a list of the questions I am commonly asked in order of frequency:

  • Where are you going?
  • Where are you coming from?
  • Have you eaten rice?
  • What did you eat with the rice?
  • Do you have a boyfriend?
  • How much is your rent?
  • How much money do you make a month?
  • Do you have a boyfriend?
  • How much do you weigh?
3 thoughts on “One of Those Days

  1. How much do you weigh?! You know, for a country that is all about respect that seems like kind of a tactless question to ask. I guess that must just be my Americanness.

Leave a Reply

