Calculate That!

This evening I took on the daunting task of calculating the calories in Thai snacks. This is no easy task, mind you. First I had to find the recipes for the mystery snacks (khanom). This was easy enough. Then I had to enter the ingredients into a recipe calorie calculator. This was easy until I couldn’t find the nutritional data for palm fruit. Not only could I find the nutritional data for palm fruit, it was as if palm fruit did not exist. I even tried reading the information in Thai. The internet failed me, but I will love those mysterious, gelatinous desserts regardless. I did however find the the number of calories in my delicious blended coffee drink I order from the side of the road-about 700 million. Who knew the delightful combination of instant coffee, nondairy powdered creamer, evaporated milk and condensed milk could be so so deadly?

Today was my second day teaching a speaking English workshop for the High School teachers. The lesson consisted of the teachers brainstorming questions they’d ask to get to know someone-“Where are you from?” “What’s your favorite food?” For a good portion of this lesson the teachers wanted my to translate various ways to ask if someone like to get drunk and how many girlfriends/boyfriends a person has. Needless to say, it was a good day.

Time to start a new book! One of my favorite feelings. At the end of the year I intend to post a list of books I’ve read this year, get excited. Not like I’m the kind of person who would keep a list of such things, or a list of all the TV seasons I have watched since moving here. Nope, that’s not something I would do at all. Maybe one day I’ll post a list of all the lists I keep. Another day, another time.

Leave a Reply

