Death By Christmas Carols

I spent today torturing my students and myself by making them sing Christmas carols all day. This seemed like such a good idea last night, but about 10 minutes into every class period I was ready to quit my singing career for life.

This morning started out about as well as any morning could, with me locking myself out of my house and sitting out front waiting for 45 minutes for my friend to come with the spare key. Apparently the concept of leaving people to wallow in their self pity is not universal since one of my neighbors spent a good portion of this time hovering about four inches from my face laughing and asking me to translate the words for lost and forget into English. Not the time, not the time. My other neighbor gave me some fresh squeezed orange juice to drink as I sat on my plastic stool, bless her heart.

This week started off amazing with the arrival of my Christmas package. I cheated and opened everything immediately, then I laid everything out neatly so I could wake up in the morning and go through everything again. I put on all of the close and jewelry to take a picture for the fam and my devoted blog followers. The result was quite the gypsy ensemble. This was all fun and nice until my neighbor came over with a telephone and wanted to talk to me. This led to me in my ridiculous gypsy outfit trying to figure out why my neighbor wanted to give me a phone. Turns out she wanted to plug her phone into my phone line and yell at the phone company. I let her do this while I awkwardly folded up my beloved gypsy clothes.

These last few weeks have been interesting. I went through a really busy period for a while, which I like, but then between teacher vacations, sports days, a teacher quitting, and a don’t do drugs seminar I have only taught one day in three weeks, which has made for a very restless girl. Also, one of my friends was sent home for riding a motorcycle, which was upsetting. Yes this is a rule we all know about, but the feeling that at anytime one of your co-volunteers that you rely on for precious sanity can be ripped out from under you is disconcerting. I went to BKK for the weekend to see her off, which leads me to where I am now…too broke to meet up with everyone in Chiang Rai for Christmas. I’ll survive though. I’m meeting a friend in PitSanTuLok (endearlying referred to as Pits) for a night of cake eating and Christmas movie watching. As much as I love the holidays, I’ll be glad when they’re over, I don’t need any more reasons to throw myself a pity party.

For some exciting news…for me at least…my friend is coming to visit on the first and thus will commence my first vacation!!!!!! I’m beyond excited for some beach bumming. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for some rock-climbing and kayaking as well.

One thought on “Death By Christmas Carols

  1. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

Leave a Reply

