Changin’ It Up

emails this morning got me all frazzled so i went for a bike ride, just to change things up a bit. worked like a charm. i ended up spending the late afternoon drinking green tea and reading a book. no complaints here. i had been looking forward to going to an art competition with my coteacher today, but she called last night and said something about how i shouldn’t go because of something something something i couldn’t understand. i mostly just understood the part about working from home today. that i can do.

when i got back to my house i finished up my work out and was inspired to do some home improvements. hello, my name is kelsi and i move furniture when i’m stressed. it all started with practical intentions. i used to have everything in my room because it was so hot and my room with ac was the coolest place around. now the weather isn’t hot enough to justify running the ac and my room is now the hottest place around, yadda, yadda, yadda…i moved my desk into the other room. and then i moved another table into that room. and then i bought some mats to beautify the space a bit. buying the mats was an adventure in and of itself. i biked to three different places before finding a store with mats today. luckily this store had really good mats. i bought two and when the sales man saw my bike he asked if i could get the mats home. i said no and asked if he could send them to my house, figuring it would be no big deal since we were within walking distance of my house. he said sure and then instead of getting on a motorcycle he got on a bike and proceded to bike behind me carrying two giants mats. i felt like such a brat, but it was at a point where i had dug myself a hole that would have been more awkward to dig myself out of than to attempt to carry the mats on the bike myself. then my neighbors were really curious about why i bought two mats, so i told them it’s because my parents are coming to visit, just cause it made sense. “my parents are coming to visit” has become my new favorite excuse for anything weird that i do. it works like a charm. anyway, my house looks about 3000% better. who knows, maybe i’ll post some before and after photos.

here are some random photos from the last 2 months….

i went on a trip with some friends from site so we could see this flower. purdy, right?

we also saw these rocks. that's my buddy from site in the front.

i'm kind of brave.

my students being precious, per usual.

jenga at my favorite bar in singapore. see if you can find the pizza sauce on my face.

oh hey, those are the petronas towers.

This entry was posted in Life at Site, Thailand by Kelsi. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kelsi

I'm a 20-something girl with a penchant for travel and a love of food. I'm prone to outdoor adventures, laughs over beers and photography missions. I write about my journeys on my blog, Some Sojourns, and on the Vayable Blog.

Leave a Reply

