5 Ways To Be Called Fat ~ Friday Five

Here in Thailand, comments about physical appearance, from complimenting a lipstick shade to pointing out a pimple, are all fair game. This includes being called fat or asked how much you weigh. To be fair, this is usually said in humor or even as a compliment. Still, as an American, it’s still weird to me. Here’s a few of the funnier experiences I’ve had with being called fat.

Scenario 1

My Thai nickname is Pancake, which is the same name as a gorgeous Thai superstar.

Me: “Hi, I have a reservation. My name is Pancake.”

Front Desk: “Why are you fat?”

Scenario 2

Teachers hand out the uniform for Fridays, yours is a men’s XL.

Scenario 3

You walk into a shop and the first words you here are either, “Have big size,” or “No have big size.”

Scenario 4

At a school field trip to a recycle bank the teachers notice the scale cars drive onto and the screen on the wall that displays the weight. The teachers ask you to step on the scale.

Scenario 5:

My host dad: “You are beautiful like your mother but have the body like your father.”

13 thoughts on “5 Ways To Be Called Fat ~ Friday Five

  1. I laughed out loud at scenario 1. I’ve been invited to serve in Dominican Republic, which will be kind of the opposite experience. Apparently while there, I will be told I am unattractive until I get gordita. Caaaan’t wait.

    • I’m glad the post made you laugh. And I say if you’re living in a country that loves chubby girls, then live it up! 😉 Good luck in the Dominican Republic. I hope you have a great time.

  2. Oh, wow. After living in Asia for 4 years, I’ve been called fat so many times in so many fun different ways, I really have to give it to Asia for coming up with creative ways to call me fat. My favorite instance was when the Chinese farmer on the Malaysian rice farm told me I wasn’t fat but just strong “like a cow.” Lovely.

  3. Hahahaha! I’ve had the same experiences in rural Northern Albania! They thought it was a very good thing that I was fat- now, I know I’m not skinny, but I’m not THAT overweight!!! 🙂 But, for them, it was a good thing. I guess because it showed I had the money to buy enough food to be over-satisfied…. but even though I was fat by their standards, they still said I was beautiful! It could have been a huge blow to my confidence, but it actually gave me much better self confidence!!! 🙂

  4. The Turks call a spade a spade too and most have no shame in telling you if you have gained weight since they last saw you. Charming – I think not!

  5. Haha, I relate so much!
    The disappointed/sad look that an eager clothes vendor as, after browsing all his collection and looking at your hips – ‘oh, no have, sorry :(‘.
    Anyway, lots of people told me that being fat is still associated by many with being wealthy, so it may also be a compliment in certain circumstances 😀

    • yes i love it when a vendor immediately tells me “no have big size.” it’s interesting how that’s not really an insult, more just pointing out some facts. oh, thailand.

  6. oh god. You’re a better person than I. I have gained quite a bit of weight due to some health problems over the past couple of years and it’s been REALLY hard to get it off. One thing I that makes me nervous when I think of going to SEA is my weight. It’s been on my mind a lot recently and that really bothers me. I have been pretty upset over the things that have led to gaining it and seriously if someone there says things like that to me I might just break down. Is it really sad to admit that it’s the one thing that makes me want to go somewhere else instead?

    • i won’t lie, SEA is a tough place to be if you are uncomfortable with your weight. not only will people point out your features, the clothes are so tiny. sometimes i just chose not to care or to laugh about it and other times it makes me overly self conscience. i’m going to india soon and i was told that curvy bodys are appreciated there. should be an interesting change. 🙂

Leave a Reply

