Bangkok Street Food

Lost debit card means cheap eats. Meaning, I have been living off Bangkok street food for the last two days and I have to say I’ve done pretty well for myself.

Typically, when I come to Bangkok I have just spent a few weeks at site living on all Thai food. Trips to Bangkok are usually my chance to fill up on foreign food and desserts.

Since I can now only afford to eat street food, I decided to turn it into a game of sorts and chose as many different dishes as possible so I can post them here.

This has been especially fun because I will say goodbye to Thailand by the end of the month and now I have a tribute to Thai food to look back on.

So here’s what I’ve been eating so far…

Suki

This is one of my favorite street food dishes. This is suki nam muu, which means suki as a soup with pork. I also like to order suki hang muu which is stirfried suki with pork and no soup. The name comes from the japanese dish sukiyaki, but the street food version shows little resemblance to the Japanese version.

This version is sweet and salty with glass noodles, egg, pork and vegetables. The sauce on the side is sweet and spicey and holds the power to make you sprint to the bathroom in the middle of the night, not that that stops me from pouring it in.

Pad Kra Pao

This is the first dish I learned how to say in Thai after phad thai and phad see ew. What a relief that was. I’d been living off those two dishes for days by that point. To this day it’s still a dish I buy frequently when ordering for myself.

Pad Kra Pao means stir fried Thai basil. This version is stir fried pork with Thai basil and fried egg (pad kra pao muu gap kai dao). I love the way the fried egg tastes with the pad kra pao.

This dish can be out of control spicy sometimes. Avoid this one if spicy is not your thing or ask for with without chilis (mai sai prik).

Laab

Sometimes this is written as larb instead of laab, but that is the ugliest word I have ever heard. It’s pronounced similar to lob, as in to lob a tennis ball.

Back to the food. This is a dish that comes from Loas and Northeastern Thailand (Issan). There are several different kinds of laab. It can be made with any kind of meat and served either raw or cooked. I, myself am not brave enough to try the raw version.

It’s made by chopping meat up finely, boiling it and then mixing the meat with mint, onion and chili. It’s one of the healthiest Thai dishes because the meat is boiled and not stir fried.

Since this is a Laos/Issan dish, it is usually eaten with sticky rice, which means you get to eat with your hands.

Kao Muu Tot Kratiem

Long name for a simple dish. This is just stir fried pork with garlic, lots of garlic. Muu tot actually means fried pork, but when you ask for this dish from a vender they will either use stir fried pork or fried pork depending on what works better for them.

This is actually the first time that I’ve ordered this dish for myself. I’ve eaten it with Thai friends and at school several times, but I never think to order it for myself. The food stand that I stopped at had a menu (most don’t) and this is what stood out to me.

Not enough?

Check out my posts about som tam and phad see ew.

 

4 thoughts on “Bangkok Street Food

  1. Hi Kelsi,
    Food look so yummy! I wish I had some 😦 I really enjoy reading your blog, and the way you explain things is FANTASTIC! If you travel to Turkey, let me know. I’d love to company you. I am looking forward to seeing your next post 🙂

Leave a Reply

