Watching the Cricket World Cup from the Backwaters

India won the Cricket World Cup! Maybe I should have built that up a little more, but it’s too exciting. Cricket is by far the favorite sport in India and winning the cup is a huge source of pride and excitement here.

After our time in Varkala we made our way to Alleppey to explore the backwaters- a region of rivers, canals and islands in the state of Kerala. It’s sometimes referred to as the Venice of India, but then again, what watery town is not referred to as a Little Venice?

We stayed the first night in Allepey because we arrived too late to catch the boat out. The options for exploring the backwaters include houseboats, canoes, boat tours and so on and so forth. Picking our method of attack was no easy task.

PZ wanted to do the houseboat and I made references to my childhood and said that paying to sleep on a boat is beyond my comprehension. I wanted to do an all day canoe trip and PZ made references to her childhood and said that paying to canoe was beyond her comprehension.

Then we found a homestay in a backwaters village. And it was perfect for us. We rode the ferry to the village in the morning where we were greeted by children handing out fruit and flowers.

During our time in the village we lounged around the property, jumped on a trampoline, went on a walking tour and caught an early morning swim. It was a great combination of the comforts of our Thai villages with the newness and wonders of India.

And we watched India win the Cricket World Cup! But I already said that.

True to habit with every place we go I told PZ “This is my new favorite place in India.”

This entry was posted in India and tagged , by Kelsi. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kelsi

I'm a 20-something girl with a penchant for travel and a love of food. I'm prone to outdoor adventures, laughs over beers and photography missions. I write about my journeys on my blog, Some Sojourns, and on the Vayable Blog.

Leave a Reply

