Camel Trekking in Jaisalmer, India

Once in Jaisalmer we immediately checked our bags at the hotel and booked a camel trek for that night. This one of the major events that we’ve been looking forward to since we started dreaming about our trip to India way back when.

There were a couple of trip options to chose from. One included a few sites closer to the city and the other involved riding in a jeep further out in the desert, stopping at dunes and getting picked up by a jeep at the end of the trek. We chose the latter, not for any specific reason, it mostly just sounded better to us. We could go out for anywhere from one night to a week or probably more if we’d wanted to. We’d heard from multiple travelers that one night in the desert is plenty and decided to follow their advice.

In not much time at all we were in a car driving out to the desert to meet our camels and guides. Unfortunately, my camera battery died on the way out to the desert. Horribly timing! So all photos here are courtesy of PZ.

First impression: camels are cute! So, so cute, with their fluffy, flirty eyelashes and their tendency to nuzzle each other. I fell hard for these fury animals.

At some point in the day we found it hilarious to sing “My Humps” to the camels and did so for quite some time. As a result of this we named our camels with Black Eyed Peas themed names. PZ’s was Fergie and mine was Mutter (the Hindi word for peas).

When we weren’t singing “My Humps” to the camels we rode through the desert in silence, taking in the beauty of the scenery. Something about the resiliency of the beings that flourish in an environment as unforgiving as the desert (did I mention it was 111 degrees F?) made me pause for thought.

At sunset we were dropped off at the dunes to watch the sun dissapear and then picked up and taken to our camp for dinner.

At night we laid on our cots under the stars, breathing in fresh desert air, watching for shooting stars and making up constelations (like an enormous 3-D shark).

Morning came and we were back on the camels. As much as I loved this whole experience, riding a camel is one of the most painful things I’ve ever done. Every obscure muscle I never use in my legs screamed out in pain. I stayed on the camel as long as I could before getting down to walk. Luckily, the Jeep wasn’t far enough away and was able to come pick us up where I got off.

This entry was posted in India and tagged , by Kelsi. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kelsi

I'm a 20-something girl with a penchant for travel and a love of food. I'm prone to outdoor adventures, laughs over beers and photography missions. I write about my journeys on my blog, Some Sojourns, and on the Vayable Blog.

64 thoughts on “Camel Trekking in Jaisalmer, India

  1. I always wanted to go trekking in the desert on a camel, but haven’t got around to it yet, busy traveling in Thailand at the moment. Looks like you had a great time. The travel bug lasts forever….allansjourney.wordpress

    • camels are a symbol of love in india, so maybe i’m not the only one who thinks they are cute. that could have just been a shop keeper trying to get me to buy a painting though. 😉

  2. What a great adventure! Those camels are really cute. I wish I could see the 3D shark constellation, too. Great photos! Thanks for sharing!

    • oh my god. i am glad i didn’t hear that before i went. there was no biting on my trip. mine didn’t spit, but he blew his lips a lot. i wasn’t too sure what that was all about.

  3. You probably had bad aches and pains as you were sat astride – normally you ride a camel side-saddle (or at least you do in the Middle Eastern deserts – haven’t ridden them anywhere else). Enjoyed your report on your trip though – especially the singing ‘My Humps’ to them LOL. I used to go on camel treks in Jordan and spent up to a week in the desert and loved it – I found the heat, because it was dry heat there, was no problem at all. We just slept on mats on the sand though – really enjoyed gazing at the stars all night.

  4. Looks fun! I’ve always thought that riding a camel would hurt. Ouch! Love that you got to look up on the starts in the dessert sky – that probably would have been a big thrill for me.

  5. Looks fun! I’ve always thought that riding a camel would hurt. Ouch! Love that you got to look up on the starts in the dessert sky – that probably would have been a big thrill for me.

  6. “Something about the resiliency of the beings that flourish in an environment as unforgiving as the desert (did I mention it was 111 degrees F?) made me pause for thought.”

    I like this line. Sometimes I find a lone bush fighting for survival in the middle of a parched desert to be more beautiful than a verdant meadow through which flows a pure mountain stream.

    Cool post and awesome trip! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. Pingback: Camel Trekking in Jaisalmer | Travel to Sabah

    • Hopefully I’ve learned my lesson in the spare batteries department. Dinner in the desert was simple veggies with spices and some chapati. Not too shabby for dinner in the desert.

  8. Hi Kelsi ! This is nice blog. I belongs from Rajasthan (Jaipur.). I read your blog and feel that my rajasthan is really tourist spot. But a problem here,there are decreasing forest area from rajsthan so desert area is increasing in whole rajasthan and pakistan. There are also some problem of water and education.
    Please give suggestion :
    How can solve these problem for beautiful rajasthan?

  9. What an adventure! I agree with you .. I love their eyelashes, so demure yet functional. No Max Factor in sight :).

    Your pictures were fantastic and you endured 111 heat? you’re a warrior!

    Cheers on being Fresh Pressed to boot 🙂 MJ

    • thanks for all the kind words. this is my first fresh press. it’s been fun to read through all the comments today.

  10. Really cool pictures! I’ve never ridden a camel, but always wanted to. Are those reins attached to something that’s actually piercing the camel’s muzzle? That part’s a bit harrowing! They are beautiful animals, and very affectionate with each other.

    • the rains seemed to be attached to a bit that went through the camel’s nose. i was a little unsure about that set up.

  11. Great post Kels!! Camels, elephants, what’s next?? 🙂 The desert looks like AZ…o wait, AZ is a big freaking desert (minus sharky stars). Miss you!

  12. Your worldwide travels are amazing. With the flare of the pen you put us amidst your adventures, entertain us with humor and capture the moment in photos. Keep it coming!

  13. You probably had bad aches and pains as you were sat astride – normally you ride a camel side-saddle (or at least you do in the Middle Eastern deserts – haven’t ridden them anywhere else). Enjoyed your report on your trip though – especially the singing ‘My Humps’ to them LOL. I used to go on camel treks in Jordan and spent up to a week in the desert and loved it – I found the heat, because it was dry heat there, was no problem at all. We just slept on mats on the sand though – really enjoyed gazing at the stars all night.

Leave a Reply

